Our Leadership

Our Leadership

Board of Directors 

Please consider serving on the MAHUBE-OTWA Board of Directors

Want more Information?

Contact: Liz Kuoppala, Executive Director at 1 (218) 847-1385 or lkuoppala@mahube.org

Karen Ahmann

Public Official

Mahnomen County Commissioner 
karen.ahmann@co.mahnomen.mn.us

Mitchell Berg

Private Organizations

Mahnomen County 
mitchellrberg@gmail.com

Charlene Christenson

Public Official (At-Large)

Hubbard County 
cchristenson@co.hubbard.mn.us

Theora Goodrich

Private Organizations

Hubbard County 
tdgoodrich@mac.com

Jon Kangas

Public Official

Wadena County 
jon.kangas@co.wadena.mn.us

Tom Krueger

Public Official

Hubbard County 
tkrueger@co.hubbard.mn.us

Greg Larson

Private Organizations 

Hubbard County
glarson@arvig.net

Dana Laine

Private Organizations (At-Large) 

Becker County 
lainedana@hotmail.com

Allan Lynk

Low-Income Representative 

Wadena County
lynkjohnson@gmail.com 

Misty Malmo

Low-Income Representative 

Hubbard County
mistylittlewolf@gmail.com 

Victoria McWane-Creek

Low-Income Representative 

Otter Tail County
Victoria.mcwanecreek@gmail.com 

Del Moen

Private Organizations 

Wadena County
pastordel@charter.net 

Betty Murphy

Public Official 

Otter Tail County
bmurphy@co.otter-tail.mn.us 

Teresa Rojas

Low-Income Representative 

Becker County
t.rojas_08@yahoo.com 

Mary Riegert

Low-Income Representative 

Mahnomen County
mary_riegert@hotmail.com 

Kim Turner

Low-Income Representative (At-Large) 

Mahnomen County
kim.turner@wetcc.edu 

Richard Vareberg

Public Official 

Becker County
richard.vareberg@co.becker.mn.us 

Scott Wagnild

Private Organizations 

Otter Tail County 
swagnild@gmail.com 

Board of Directors FAQ’s

What are the requirements to become a Board Member?

The minimum requirements for board members are:

  • Board members are residents of the counties of the agency’s jurisdiction – Mahnomen, Hubbard, Becker, Otter Tail or Wadena County.
  • Board members are representatives of some aspect or segment of the population in the community – low income representatives, public officials or representatives of private organizations.
  • Board members have interest in the agency’s mission.
  • Board members have specific experience and/or knowledge in at least one element including administration, finance, personnel, program development, public relations or communications.

What do Board Members do?

The board of directors is the governing body of MAHUBE-OTWA Community Action Partnership. The board sets the overall policy and goals which are then carried out by staff.

The board meets on the last Friday of the month at the Detroit Lakes MAHUBE-OTWA office.  Meetings usually last one to two hours. In addition, there are some committee meetings and a few special events which board members attend.  All meetings also have the option of meeting remotely via Zoom.

I am interested in what MAHUBE-OTWA does, but I don’t know a lot about it? 

Absolutely! We provide a basic orientation session for all new board members. Board training is ongoing and provided as needed and requested. We provide board members with the information they need to know about the agency. Finally, board members are always welcome to call or make an appointment with the Executive Director to go over any aspect about the agency.

Are Board Members paid?

Board members are volunteers and not paid a salary. However, we do pay a stipend, travel costs and reasonable expenses incurred in the performance of board duties.

Even though members do not receive a salary, there are many benefits to being on our board including:  It is an excellent way to help your community; You will develop or enhance your skills in budgeting, management, supervision and many other areas; and You will be working with some of the most interesting people in your community.

Are Board Meetings very formal?

Meetings are important and the board members are there to conduct business. They are also interesting and fun. The board members are professional, but, at the same time, relaxed and casual. The best way to see what we mean is to attend a board meeting yourself. You are more than welcome to come to a meeting and observe the board in action. We would love to have you visit us. 

What if I have to miss a meeting every once in a while?

Most of our board members are unable to make every meeting. They are busy, active people! However, we ask our members to attend as many meetings as possible. As part of the governing body of the agency, you are very important to us.

Are Board Meetings very formal?

Board members are professional, but at the same time, relaxed and casual. You are provided meeting agendas and information prior to meetings. The best way to see what we mean is to attend a meeting and observe the board in action.

Benefits of being a MAHUBE-OTWA board member? 
  • Being a MAHUBE-OTWA board member is an excellent way to assist in helping identify and address needs in your communities. 
  • You will receive opportunities to develop and enhance your skills and leadership. 
  • You will establish working relationships and partnerships with other public and private agencies and programs. 
  • You will be involved with rewarding work to keep poverty issues in the hearts and minds of community partners, decision-makers, donors, and volunteers. 

Leadership Staff

We believe our future depends on everyone doing well and that our communities are stronger when all people can realize their full potential and contribute to their community.  

Sam Amundson

Fiscal Controller
samundson@mahube.org

Amanda Griffin

Human Resources
adriffin@mahube.org

Janice Haverkamp

Administration
jhaverkamp@mahube.org

Dan Josephson

Energy Programs
djosephson@mahube.org

Liz Kuoppala

Executive Director
lkuoppala@mahube.org

Dana Patsie

Child Care Aware
dpatsie@mahube.org

Nancy South

Family Development
nsouth@mahube.org

Michelle Wilkowski

Head Start/Early Head Start
mwilkowski@mahube.org

Want to make a lasting impact in the fight against poverty. MAHUBE-OTWA has a diverse staff who share the Agency’s values of client focused, community minded, and resourceful. Learn more about careers at MAHUBE-OTWA